Go To Search
GovernmentServicesBusinessCome Visit
Click to Home

March 2, 2010, Municipal Election Results
The results from the city of Rio Rancho’s March 2, 2010, municipal election have been canvassed and certified as official by a district court judge.

The official election results include:

Mayor, four-year term elected at-large  Absentee/Early  Polls  Total
 Thomas E. Swisstack (Incumbent)  1325  2924  4249
 Jim Owen  379  1202  1581

District 2 City Councilor, four-year term  Absentee/Early  Polls  Total
 Patricia A. Thomas (Incumbent)  201  382  583
 Federico Cardenas  85  191  276
 Paul Anthony Valles  42  89  131

District 3 City Councilor, four-year term  Absentee/Early  Polls  Total
 Denny Muzzey  106  243  349
 Tamara L. Gutierrez (Incumbent)  175  313  488

District 5 City Councilor, four-year term  Absentee/Early  Polls Total 
 Timothy C. Crum  272  640  912

Municipal Judge
four-year term elected at-large              
 Absentee/Early  Polls  Total
 James M. Walker (Incumbent)  707  1526  2233
 Rodney Lawrence Gabaldon  123  424  547
 Jeff G. Hartman  363  885  1248
 G. Robert Cook  401  917  1318

View (searchable PDF) official and signed canvassing document.

Through the canvassing process, which is in place to ensure the accuracy of election results, it was verified that out of the 48,141 eligible registered voters who could have cast a ballot in this election, 5,852 or 12.16 percent voted. 

runoff election was held on April 13, 2010, for the municipal judge seat. This runoff election was necessary as no candidate received more than 50 percent of the total votes cast in this contest.

Adobe Acrobat Reader
Reading the PDF documents provided on this site requires the Adobe Acrobat Reader, available for free from Adobe.